Flags of The Suffrage Movement

  • Flag
  • 1 min

By Crusader1307

The Suffrage Movement started in England in 1903. It was a political Organization which championed the cause of allowing all Women equal rights under The Law, as well as the right to vote in Government affairs. Up to this point, Women (although cherished), were very much "second-class" Citizens. They could only hold certain types of jobs and (by society's convention), best suited to remain at home caring for her children. Men considered most Women their intellectual inferiors (despite those Women who had proven otherwise). Banding together for social and political change, British Women formed The Woman's Social and Political Union. Marching in protest and disrupting Government whenever they could, they even resorted to "terrorist" tactics by blowing up Mail Boxes and uninhabited houses to make their point. The Movement spread to America in 1913, with very similar tactics. 


World War I put much of The Movements goals on hold on both Countries. However, in 1920, The US Congress ratified the 19th Amendment of The American Constitution. This gave American "Suffragettes", the right to vote and be treated equally. In England, it was not until 1928 that Laws were changed. Both the Movements used a similar Flag to identify themselves. Below are shown the two types used:


A Flag featuring 3 vertical Stripes of Purple, White and Green. Known as "The Women's Flag", it was used from 1903 to 1917.




In America, The Suffrage Movement was known as "The National Woman's Party". From 1913 to 1920, a Flag of 3 vertical Stripes of Yellow, White and Purple.