First French Empire

  • The Napoleonic War
  • Less than 1 min

By Crusader1307

The Political Region known as The ''First French Empire'', existed from 1804 until 1815. Consisting of France (proper) and roughly 130 ''Departments'' (later occupied and annexed Territories), was ruled by Napoleon Bonaparte (later created ''Emperor of The French''). It was from this Government, formed after The French Revolution at the end of the 18th Century, that the later ''Napoleonic Wars'' were started. The Empire, which began to adopted the iconic ''Tricolor'' Flag of Blue, White and Red as it's National Standard (as is used today), would – in 1809, be briefly called ''The Republic''. With Napoleon's ''establishment'' as Emperor, the name would remain Empire until His armies eventual defeat at The Battle of Waterloo. France would revert back to a more traditional Republic thereafter.